Luke Rech: 2016 Scholarship Winner

CONGRATULATIONS, LUKE RECH! Luke is one of our three Stockgrowers Scholarship recipients this year. He plans to attend Montana State University-Northern to major in Business Administration with goals to be involved in production agriculture and work as an agriculture loan officer. He earned a $2,000 scholarship.

luke

Applicants each wrote an essay about how they hoped this scholarship, their education and their career goals would have a positive impact on the future of agriculture and rural communities. Each student did so well, we just have to share a couple highlights from these essays. We’re so proud to support the next generation of leaders in our ranching communities! Here’s a couple highlights of what Luke had to say in his essay:

“My entire life has been revolved around agriculture and with my passion for agriculture, I want to pursue an agriculture-based education. I also want to leave a legacy with my kids and give them the opportunity to experience what I have. …

“By pursuing my degree in Business Administration, I will add an aspect to my education that helps me become more valuable to the ag industry and community in general. I will not only have ag production experience, but also have a sound financial foundation as well. By getting a business-based education, my goal is to become more fiscally responsible, personally and professionally. …

“My life goal is to pass on a legacy to my children to be stewards of the land. I want them to understand the work ethic agriculture teaches us and how being involved in agriculture can benefit ourselves and the agriculture community. … I am striving to learn more and experience more to eventually hand that down to the next generation.”

We’re proud of you, Luke, and wish you the best in your future endeavors. The Crazy Mountain Stockgrowers were able to award $5,000 in total to three local graduating seniors this year thanks in part to the support and generosity of our community at our annual banquet. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

