From your 2017 President Nathan Anderson… 

2016_09_mymontana-anderson-8

2017 CMSGA president Nathan Anderson and his wife Jennie

Going into the New Year it is customary for the President to write an article on how promising the cattle market is or what the weather has in store for us this year. I thought I would change it up a bit.

Just coming off annual meeting season there is something that’s been on my mind. Throughout the year it is easy to overhear conversations between people who feel disappointment towards one ag organization or another or frustrated by an issue or policy that negatively impacts them.

In the past, I would have jumped right on the bandwagon and chimed in. I couldn’t understand why these organizations weren’t going down the path I wanted or were not addressing issues that were important to me.

It finally dawned on me that in order for organizations to hear what I had to say or take action with my issues, I had to show up. How are these organizations supposed to know what my stance is on the issues? I am not here to tell you that an organization will take your every idea and run with it. But you’ll have a vote and a platform to get something done, and that’s a starting point.

Sitting back and complaining about things is easy to do, but the results are few. Getting involved does require extra time and effort, and I completely understand how busy everyone is, but making time to get involved will pay off in dividends for your business and the industry.

I urge each and every one of you to attend at least one meeting for an organization or issue you care about this year. In order for ag organizations to stay grass roots, we need grass roots participation! The world is run by those who show up!

-Nathan

Leave a Reply

